History



skischule bödele

First professional ski instructor of Austria
Albert Mathies, who had learned skiing from none other than ski pioneer Viktor Sohm, taught at Bödele from 1909, and was therefor the first known, professional ski instructor in Austria at all. (see Thöny, 2012)


Founder of the ski school Albert Fetz, approx. 1959



Founder of skischule bödele – Albert Fetz
Albert Fetz, who built Berghof Fetz in 1958 and opened it the year after that, was the first ski school director and founder of skischule bödele. He was also considered a ski pioneer who already tried all kinds of tricks on the skis with the equipment at that time. The so-called »Reuelschwung« demonstrated by Albert Fetz.

Second ski school director at Bödele – Franz Fetz
After his active years Albert passed the ski school to his son Franz Fetz, who continued the ski school next to the hotel »Gasthof Hirschen« in Schwarzenberg. Franz was ski school director until winter 1989/90.

Third ski school director – Peter Berchtold
In the winter of 1990/91 Franz Fetz offered Peter Berchtold to take over the ski school at Bödele. He took over the location and meeting point Berghof Fetz, built the now popular Kinderland after Fritz Jenny, well-known Vorarlberg children ski educator on the pass summit and found with the practice area at Oberlose best conditions to operate a successful ski school.

Peter Berchtold



In the first years his goal was to make the ski school known beyond the borders. This was initially achieved especially through the popular children's skiing courses during the holidays. With well-trained ski instructors it soon became possible to gain a high level of familiarity in the Austrian and Swiss Rhine Valley and in the near area of Lake Constance.

The children's skiing courses during the holidays with bus shuttle from Altach-Hohenems-Lustenau-Hard-Bregenz-Lauterach-Dornbirn were well-known and used to capacity every winter. The skiing courses for the younger preschool kids in the low season soon had also a fixed place in the offer of the ski school.


Fourth and current ski school director
With season 2017/18 Josef Berchtold has officially taken over the ski school. However, Josef has already been active in the ski school for over 10 years and is also responsible for its marketing strategy.

Josef & Peter Berchtold



In the early years of the 2010s it was necessary to reposition the ski school. The competition in form of numerous ski clubs and societies from the Rhine Valley took away more and more customers from the children's group courses, because of their price advantages. The customers did not understand the price difference and so skischule bödele had to reorganize and position itself more broadly.

This process was tackled by Peter and Josef through promotion of the private course segment. A small but fine core team of ski instructors was built and the group courses were made smaller to ensure higher quality. During this process we completed our offer by adding a rental service at Berghof Fetz. Soon the central feature of our business became clear – the ONE STOP SHOP strategy.

The brand skibödele was born. It brings the areas of ski school – rental – shop together under one roof and offers our guests an easy and stress-free winter sports experience at our Bödele!


Ski area Bödele

The beginnings
Already at the beginning of the 20th century people skied at Bödele. Since 1901 Bödele developed into the most famous place for winter sports in the Lake Constance region.


Bödele – place for winter sports – hotel complex, 1932
Source: Reproduktion Stadtarchiv Dornbirn, o. Sign.



Otto Hämmerle and his Alpenhotel Bödele
In 1905 Otto Hämmerle, textile manufacturer from Dornbirn, acquired an old, simple inn which he rebuilt into a magnificent hotel complex. What started as a small tavern in 1891, evolved until 1938 into the grand Alpinhotel Bödele (see image 1). On february 3rd 1938 the entire hotel fell victim to the flames and burnt down to the ground.


Motor lift at Bödele – Lank, 1907
Source: Orig. Stadtarchiv Dornbirn, o.Sign. Verl. Purger & Co, München.



The first ski lift of the monarchy
At Bödele the first ski lift of the Austro-Hungarian monarchy was already put into operation in 1907. The sled lift was driven by a Puch motor with 4 HP and it can be assumed that this was the first publicly accessible, known ski lift ever.


Bödele-Lank, surface lift, 1950se
Source: Orig. Stadtarchiv Dornbirn, o. Sign. Photo Franz Beer



The cradle of alpine skiing
Because of this early, very important role in Vorarlberg's skiing history it can be said with proud that the Bödele together with the Arlberg can be called the cradle of ski sports in the Alps.

Another milestone of the development at Bödele was certainly the construction of the 1951 completed Lanklift surface lift and the launch of the Hochälpele surface lift in 1957, which is considered as one of Austria's most profitable lifts.

Subsequently several facilities followed, like the Haldenlifts in Schwarzenberg, which are connected only via bus, and one platter lift at Oberlose as well as one at Weißtanne.

Geschichte



Skischule Bödele

Erster berufsmäßiger Skilehrer Österreichs
Albert Mathies, der bei niemand geringerem als Skipionier Viktor Sohm das Skifahren gelernt hatte, unterrichtete ab 1909 am Bödele, war daher der erste bekannte, berufsmäßige Skilehrer Österreichs überhaupt. (vgl. Thöny, 2012)


Skischulgründer Albert Fetz, ca. 1959



Gründer der Skischule Bödele – Albert Fetz
Albert Fetz, der den Berghof Fetz im Jahre 1958 erbaute und im Jahr darauf eröffnete war der erste Skischulleiter und Gründer der Skischule Bödele. Auch er galt als Skipionier, der mit der damaligen Ausrüstung schon alle möglichen Tricks auf den Skiern versuchte. Der sogenannte ‚Reuelschwung’ demonstriert von Albert Fetz.

Zweiter Skischulleiter am Bödele – Franz Fetz
Albert übergab nach seiner aktiven Zeit die Skischule an seinen Sohn Franz Fetz der die Skischule neben dem Gasthof Hirschen in Schwarzenberg weiterführte. Franz war bis zum Winter 1989/90 Skischulleiter.

Dritter Skischulleiter – Peter Berchtold
Im Winter 1990/91 bekam Peter Berchtold von Franz Fetz das Angebot, die Skischule am Bödele zu übernehmen. Er übernahm den Standort und Sammelplatz Berghof Fetz, baute das heute so beliebte Kinderland nach der Ideologie von Fritz Jenny, dem bekannten Vorarlberger Kinderskipädagogen auf der Passhöhe auf und fand mit dem Übungsgelände an der Oberlose beste Voraussetzungen um eine erfolgreiche Skischule zu betreiben.

Peter Berchtold



In den ersten Jahren war sein Ziel, die Skischule über die Grenzen hinaus bekannt zu machen. Dies gelang anfangs speziell mit den beliebten Kinderskikursen in den Ferien. Mit gut ausgebildeten Skilehrer/innen gelang es bald, im österreichischen und schweizerischen Rheintal und im nahen Bodenseeraum einen hohen Bekanntheitsgrad zu erlangen.

Die Kinderskikurse in den Kinderferien mit Buszubringer von Altach-Hohenems-Lustenau-Hard-Bregenz-Lauterach- Dornbirn waren allseits bekannt und erfreuten sich jeden Winter bester Auslastung. Die Kleinkinderskikurse in der Nebensaison für Kindergartenkinder, hatten bald auch einen festen Platz im Angebot der Skischule.


Vierter und aktueller Skischulleiter – Josef Berchtold
Mit der Saison 2017/18 hat Josef Berchtold offiziell das Ruder in der Skischule übernommen. Josef ist allerdings schon über 10 Jahre in der Skischule tätig und auch für den Marketingstrategischen Auftritt verantwortlich.

Josef & Peter Berchtold



Anfang der 2010er Jahre war es notwendig, die Skischule neu zu positionieren. Denn die Konkurrenz in Form der zahlreichen Skiclubs und Vereinen aus dem Rheintal übernahm, aufgrund von Preisvorteilen, immer mehr Kunden aus dem Kindergruppenkurs Segment. Für die Kunden war der Preisunterschied nicht nachzuvollziehen und so musste sich die Skischule Bödele neu bzw. breiter aufstellen.

Dieser Prozess wurden von Peter und Josef durch Forcierung des Privatkurs Segment angegangen. Ein kleines aber feines Stammlehrerteam wurde aufgebaut und die Gruppenkurse kleiner und somit qualitativ hochwertiger gestaltet. Während dieses Prozesses kam auch der Skiverleih beim Berghof Fetz dazu, wodurch das Angebot komplett wurde. Schnell wurde klar was das zentrale Merkmal dieses Unternehmens war – die ONE STOP SHOP Strategie.

Damit wurde die Marke skibödele geboren, welche die Bereiche Skischule – Verleih – Verkauf unter einem Dach vereint und unseren Gästen ein unkompliziertes und stressfreies Wintersporterlebnis an unserem Bödele bietet!


Skigebiet Bödele

Die Anfänge
Schon am Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts wurde am Bödele skigefahren. Seit dem Jahr 1901 entwickelte sich das Bödele zu dem bekanntesten Wintersportplatz im Bodenseegebiet.


Bödele – Wintersportplatz – Hotelanlage, 1932
Quelle: Reproduktion Stadtarchiv Dornbirn, o. Sign.



Otto Hämmerle und sein Alpenhotel Bödele
Otto Hämmerle, Textil Fabrikant aus Dornbirn erwarbt im Jahre 1905 ein altes, einfaches Gasthaus welches er zu einem prächtigen Hotelanlage ausbaute. Was um 1891 als Wirtshäuschen begann entwickelte sich bis 1938 zu dem prächtigen Alpenhotel Bödele (vgl. Abbildung 1). Am 3. Februar 1938 wurde das gesamte Hotel ein Opfer der Flammen und brannte bis auf die Grundmauern nieder.


Motoraufzug am Bödele - Lank, 1907
Quelle: Orig. Stadtarchiv Dornbirn, o.Sign. Verl. Purger & Co, München.



Der erste Skilift der Monarchie
Am Bödele wurde bereits 1907 der erste Skilift der österreichisch-ungarischen Monarchie in Betrieb genommen. Der Schlittenaufzug wurde von einem vier PS starken Puchmotor angetrieben und es darf angenommen werden, dass dies der erste öffentlich zugängliche, bekannte Skilift überhaupt war.


Bödele-Lank, Schlepplift, 1950er Jahre
Quelle: Orig. Stadtarchiv Dornbirn, o. Sign. Foto Franz Beer



Die Wiege des Skisports in den Alpen
Aufgrund dieser frühen, sehr wichtigen Rolle in der Skigeschichte Vorarlbergs kann mit Stolz behauptet werden, dass das Bödele zusammen mit dem Arlberg als Wiege des Schisports in den Alpen bezeichnet werden kann.

Ein weiterer Meilenstein in der Entwicklung am Bödele war sicherlich der Bau des 1951 fertiggestellten Lanklift Schleppliftes und die Inbetriebnahme des Hochälpele Schleppliftes im Jahre 1957 welcher als einer der rentabelsten Lifte Österreichs gilt.

In weiterer Folge kamen einige Anlage dazu, wie die Haldenlifte in Schwarzenberg, die aber nur über den Linienbus angebunden sind, und je ein Tellerlift an der Oberlose sowie bei der Weißtanne.